

CONTACT Scott Johnson **Executive Secretary** Iowa FFA Association scott.iohnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

MAQUOKETA FFA WINS IOWA FFA VETERINARY SCIENCE CDE

The Maquoketa FFA Chapter from Maquoketa was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Veterinary Science Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames in ISU, Ames on June 4, 2015. Members of the first place team included: JP Crowley, Sabrynn Dague, Abby Rubel, and Blair Bennis. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Gary Bruns. They will represent Iowa at the National Veterinary Science Career Development Event at Louisville, Kentucky, in October. The South O'Brien FFA Chapter from Paullina was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Eric Koehlmoos, Wyatt Sickelka, Dylan Riedemann, and J. C. Lange. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Eric Kumm. JP Crowley, Maguoketa FFA, Maquoketa, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition.

FFA teams from 11 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Veterinary Science. The 44 individuals who completed a general knowledge examination focusing on veterinary science. The team members also prepared a video focusing on proper veterinary clinical practices.

The Iowa FFA Vet Science CDE was made possible with support from Bomgaars through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Zoetis sponsored the State Winning Team plaque through the National FFA Foundation.

Listed below are the top teams and individuals in the various parts of the career development event.

Top 10 Teams

Top 10 Individuals 1 Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa JP Crowley, Maguoketa FFA, Maguoketa 2 South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Eric Koehlmoos, South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina 3 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Emily Boettger, Denison FFA, Denison 4 East Union FFA, Afton Abby Rubel, Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa 5 Boyden-Hull FFA, Hull Blair Bennis, Maguoketa FFA, Maguoketa 6 Denison FFA, Denison Chase Pladsen, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon 7 Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Dylan Riedemann, South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina 8 Cascade FFA, Cascade Dylan Harman, Boyden-Hull FFA, Hull 9 New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Jessica Meseck, Denison FFA, Denison 10 Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA Peter Liu, Boyden-Hull FFA, Hull

<u> Specialty Areas -- Top Team/ Top Individual:</u>

Team Clinical Procedure Video

Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa

General Knowledge Exam

Team: South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Individual: JP Crowley, Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (6)

Score Range (216 to 187)

Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon East Union FFA, Afton Boyden-Hull FFA, Hull Denison FFA, Denison

Silver Teams (3)

Score Range (179.5 to 172) Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Cascade FFA, Cascade New Hampton FFA, New Hampton

Bronze Teams (2) Score Range (161 to 159) Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA North Scott FFA, Eldridge

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 225 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.